Tashkent - the capital of Uzbekistan

Tashkent (Uzbek: Toshkent) is the capital of the Republic of Uzbekistan

Automobile code of Tashkent: 01-09 (from 1998 to October 2008 the code was 10 and 30)
Coordinates: 41 degrees 16 minutes north latitude and 69 degrees 13 minutes east longitude.

Tashkent is located in the north-eastern part of the republic, in the valley of the river. Chirchik, at an altitude of 440-480 m above sea level. To the northeast of Tashkent, the snowy peaks of the Big and Small Chimgan, the spurs of the Tien Shan, are visible.

The history of Tashkent has been traced since the 2nd century BC. under various names: Shash, Chach, Binkent. The name Tashkent was first mentioned in the 11th century in the works of Beruni. On September 1-2, 2009, the celebration of the 2200th anniversary of the city of Tashkent took place in Tashkent.

As of the beginning of the twentieth century, about 200 thousand inhabitants (Uzbeks, Tatars, Russians, Jews and other nationalities) lived in Tashkent. The city had such educational institutions as: a men's gymnasium, a real school, a cadet corps, a women's gymnasium, a Mariinsky 4-class women's school, a private women's pro-gymnasium, two city 4-class men's schools, a trade and technical railway school and parish schools.

Historically, the conditional division of the city into two parts — old and new city. The old city was the center of handicraft and trade life, and the new city — industrial, formed on the site of gardens, fields and cottages. From 1930 to 1991 Tashkent (Uzbek. Toshkent) was the capital of the Uzbek SSR as part of the former USSR and the regional center of the Tashkent region, the fourth largest city in the Soviet Union with a population of up to 2 million people and the second in terms of area. Since September 1991 Tashkent has been the capital of independent Uzbekistan and the center of the Tashkent region.

Emblem of Tashkent

Emblem of Tashkent

At present, the area of the city of Tashkent is 432 km2 (432,000 hectares), taking into account the last expansion of the city on August 27, 2021. The population of Tashkent as of July 1, 2021 is more than 2,737.2 thousand people.

Tashkent is the political and economic center of the Republic of Uzbekistan. Tashkent - Mustaqillik Square Here are the residence of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, the Legislative Chamber of the Oliy Majlis , the Senate of the Oliy Majlis, the Cabinet of Ministers, embassies of foreign states, public organizations, as well as the main departments of all ministries and departments of the Republic of Uzbekistan.

Tashkent today is a large industrial center. 20% of products produced in the republic are in Tashkent. Many large and medium-sized enterprises of the republic are concentrated here. Aircraft, cotton pickers and cotton gins, tractors, compressors, excavators, televisions, etc. are produced in Tashkent.

Tashkent is a major railway junction, the center of a dense network of roads and air routes. All types of urban transport are well developed. Stations of the Tashkent Metro are distinguished by their beautiful decoration.

Tashkent is a large scientific center. The Academy of Sciences and its more than 40 research institutes, Academy of State and Social Construction under the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan, Academy of Arts of Uzbekistan, more 40 higher education institutions.

Administratively, the city of Tashkent is divided into 12 districts

  • Uchtepa district - area 2,820 hectares or 28.2 km2
  • Bektemir district - area 3,357.7 hectares or 33.58 km2
  • Mirzo-Ulugbek district - area 5,526.6 hectares or 55.27 km2 + Ulugbek settlement 384 ha or 3.84 km2
  • Mirabad district - area 1 672 hectares or 16,72 km2
  • Sergeli district - area 4 841,1 hectares or 48,41 km2
  • Almazar (former Sobir Rakhimov) district - area 3,378 hectares or 33.78 km2
  • Chilanzar district - area 3,043 hectares or 30.46 km2
  • Shaikhontohur district - area 2,717 hectares or 27.17 km2
  • Yunusabad district - area 4,106 hectares or 41.06 km2
  • Yakkasaray district - area 1,399 hectares or 13.99 km2
  • Yashnabad (former Khamza) district - area 3,431 hectares or 34.31 km2
  • Yangihayot district - an area of ​​4,419.6 hectares or 44.2 km - was established in November 2020 in accordance with the Decree of the President of the Republic of Uzbekistan PP No. 4888 of 11/11/20. As part of the newly formed Yangikhayot district, 2,131.2 hectares were allocated from the city of Tashkent, and 2,288.4 hectares from the Tashkent region.

Tashkent map

Perhaps you will also be interested

At the XVIII plenary session of the Senate of the Oliy Majlis in August 2021, the issue of changing the boundaries of the Zangiata, Yukorichirchik, Urtachirchik and Kibray districts of the Tashkent region and the Sergeli, Bektemir, Mirzo-Ulugbek and Yashnabad districts of the city of Tashkent, as well as the Tashkent region and the city Tashkent.

The deputies made the following decisions:

Tashkent will expand due to:

  • Mahalley of Zangiota region: Chorbog, Belariq, Faizli, Zhaloyir, Nomdanak, Kumariq, Honobodtepa, Tarakkiyot, Korasuv, Honobod, Kushbegi, Sohibkor, Istiklol and Nurafshon with a total area of ​​1,827.1 ha. They will become part of the Sergeli district of Tashkent.
  • Mahalley of Yukorichirchik district: Gulbog and Yik ota with a total area of ​​490 ha. They will become part of the Bektemir district of Tashkent.
  • Mahalley of Urtachirchik district: Bektemir, Nurafshon, Namuna, Yangi khayot, Alisher Navoiy with a total area of ​​1,134.2 ha. They will also become part of the Bektemir district of Tashkent.
  • Mahalley of Kibray region: Geophysics, Alisherobod, Chingeldi, Dustlik, Tarakkiyot, Barkamol, Bogishamol, Vatanparvar, Amir Temur, Mevazor, Gulbog, Gulzor-1, Pastki Yuz with a total area of ​​2 294.6 ha. They will become part of the Mirzo-Ulugbek district of Tashkent.
  • Mahalley of the Kibray region: Zharboshi, Tashisti, Ibrat, Mirishkor, Argin, Bakhor, Chinor, Tovkentepa with a total area of ​​2,107.4 ha. They will become part of the Yashnabad district of Tashkent.

They will leave Tashkent:

  • 33.8 hectares of land in the Sergeli region will be transferred to the Zangiata region
  • 137.5 hectares of land in Bektemir district will be transferred to Yukorichirchik district

In the territories passing from the Tashkent region to the city of Tashkent, 95,872 people live (23,249 families, 29,010 apartments). There are 15 preschool educational organizations (for 2,025 seats), 16 secondary schools (for 8,756 places) and 6 family clinics.

/en Download Form